Evernote

This week on Awesome Geek I am going to blog about 5 different websites and applications that I use in my daily routine – and firmly believe everyone else should too, especially the geeks who are awesome out there.

Evernote was an application I wanted to use a while back, but unfortunately it wasn’t available for Tiger for the Mac so I had to wait until I upgraded. Of course I then presently forgot all about the thing after I got my new laptop and it is only recently I finally remembered its existence and I don’t know how I lived without it before then.

An Elephant never forgets, so it is fitting the application chose the animal as it’s mascot. Evernote is an extremely useful note clipping application and unlike many other similar applications of this kind that I have encountered it actually manages to replace the “jotting notes on soon to be lost scrap paper” system I had previously employed. What makes it so convenient for me personally consists of two factors. The first is that I barely notice it there, it has managed to integrate with my digital life flawlessly, becoming a handy button in my web browser and an option when I right click. This seamless amalgamation into my regular routine is something that every application should strive to do.

The second factor is that all my notes organise incredibly well in the desktop application. You can tag your notes, but they are also searchable too so finding things you need is a breeze. I organise my notes by notebooks as well as tags. For example I have a notebook for organising my move to London in the coming weeks and another that I use for organising articles for college work.

Evernote is something an awesome geek should have in their life because the awesome geek is organised, able to pull up information with the click of a mouse and the stroke of a key. I highly recommend it. The service offers a free and premium version and all the applications are created by the company itself, not third parties so you can rely on them.

Checklist
Website Application:
Desktop Client:
iPhone/Mobile Application:

One thought on “Evernote

  1. Pingback: Awesome College Geek Guide « The Awesome Geek

Leave a Reply

