Crunchyroll

This week on Awesome Geek I am going to blog about 5 different websites and applications that I use in my daily routine – and firmly believe everyone else should too, especially the geeks who are awesome out there.

Now I won’t lie, I haven’t had a huge amount of experience with Crunchyroll, what I know primarily is that the website is a great place to watch anime online without being illegal – which is brilliant in my opinion. Recently I’ve returned to the website (I had an old account I never used), in order to re-watch The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya. The first season of one of my favourite shows was recently brought to the website’s library so I jumped at the chance to watch it in good quality with good subtitles.

Let me first get the cons out of the way. The Library isn’t huge, but it is substantial enough that you will definitely find something to enjoy but I wouldn’t rely on it to find your must watch show. In order to watch the higher quality video you have to become a premium member – which means spending some money. Becoming a premium member will also rid your video of advertisements. The ads are a sore spot for me. I don’t mind ads in exchange for good quality content, but when the same 30 second commercial is run constantly it gets a bit annoying.

Finally I have a major gripe, one that really gets on my nerves. I was hearing rumbles on various blogs and twitter that “Durarara!” was an show many people were addicted to/enjoying so I looked it up on Crunchyroll on the off chance they had it in their library. To my surprise and excitement, they did – so I clicked on episode 1 of the series to see if I too would become a follower of this show. Instead I was faced with a banner saying that this content isn’t available in my region. I assume this is because I’m in Europe – I am also assuming the main audience for this website is American and therefore catered to that audience. However I would never become a premium member if I was not guaranteed access to all of the shows regardless of where I was in the world.

I see I’ve spent the last 300 words or so complaining about this website. So why would an Awesome Geek even darken the door of Crunchyrolll? I say because wherever you can find a way of supporting a content creator, you should go for. Crunchyroll is not without its faults, but it is doing something very right for an industry that has a substantial audience outside of Japan that don’t want to wait for months and years after a premiere of an anime to watch it for themselves. Crunchyroll can make that a reality, so it is definitely something to have a look at.

Checklist
Website Application:
Desktop Client: ✗ (It is available via Boxee)
iPhone/Mobile Application:

Leave a Reply

